A Year of Change

Denver #templeselfie.

A post shared by Tracy Allen (@tracy.na) on

A year ago, I came to work every day as an intern and sat in Intern Alley with Marinda and Kristen as we chatted about life and clicked away at our keyboards.

A year ago, I lived with two stressed out roommates who were applying to graduate school.

A year ago, I was feeling the overwhelming pressure to figure out a real job and was sending in applications every day, but still not exactly sure what I was looking for.

A year ago, I went home to Vegas for Christmas with a brother who had just gotten back from Ukraine and the prospects of a new sister-in-law.

A year ago, everything was on the brink of change, and you know what happened this year? The change came. When I look back at the last 12 months and think about where I was, it frankly makes me stop in my tracks. But at the same time, it was so natural that it’s difficult to imagine being back where I was a year ago.

This year, I have a full-time job I love. Marinda isn’t my co-worker, she’s my roommate. My best friend’s in Chicago. My brother is married (along with two of my dearest friends). And I’m about to start graduate school in less than two weeks.

That sounds like a lot of change, but at the same time, a year is a long time. There are 365 days to dream things up and work on projects and go on adventures and meet new people. So yes, a lot has changed this year, but it doesn’t feel that extreme because it didn’t happen in a day. Each day I woke up and chipped away at the changes I wanted to see in my life and made a little progress toward decisions that needed to be made and eventually they transformed my life. It’s the strange and wonderful thing about life. We’re constantly changing, but we can take it one day at a time.

 

 

 

One thought on “A Year of Change

Leave a Reply

