2015 Booklist

0ba20859d59f15a112c67edacb83f125

Meme credit: here

For my birthday last week I did something a little unorthodox by way of gifts. You see, most of my friends are either students or breaking into their careers right now, and don’t have a ton of money to spare. And so, instead of presents, I asked all of them to think about a book recommendation for me. I don’t think I could have anticipated what a rare treat reading all their recommendations and comments would be. Part of that expereince was how wonderfully representative their recommendations were of themselves. For instance, Katelyn is a second grade teacher and had some wonderful children’s books for me, Megan has lived in Southeast Asia and shared some powerful memoirs from that region of the world. Rachel majored in Russian and gave me four beefy Russian novels (I’ll be lucky to get through one). While Jaclyn, the most genuinely positive person I know, suggested The Power of Positive Thinking.

It just illustrated for me that we are what we read. Books shape the way we think, and are often representative of what we care about. They take more energy to consume than a television show or movie. You can’t be passive about it; you have to focus on the words to read them, and turn the pages to continue. You choose with every second to keep reading. I love it, as you can probably guess just from the title of this blog. And so I wanted to share the wonderfully diverse and interesting list with all of you.

(Title- recommender)

  • The Art of Racing in the Rain- Sarah
  • Unbroken-Sarah, Jake, and Alex
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns- Susan
  • Ella Minnow Pea- Marinda
  • The Hiding Place- Marinda
  • Maximum Ride- Kristen
  • Peace Like a River- Jessie
  • Going Postal – Jessie
  • The Giver Quartet- Quincey
  • The Journey- Katelyn
  • Boy (Rhode Dahl)- Kateyln
  • Lunar Chronicles- Maryssa
  • The Power of Positive Thinking- Jaclyn
  • The Tiger’s Curse- Bethany
  • Blackmoore- Bethany
  • Survival in the Killing Fields- Megan
  • In the Land of Green Ghosts- Megan
  • Team of Rivals- Keaton
  • A Circle of Quiet- Katie
  • Crime and Punishment- Rachel
  • Anna Karenina- Rachel
  • Fathers and Children- Rachel
  • Brothers Karamazv- Rachel
  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close- Rachel

A few books that are on my immediate reading list:

  • Brown Girl Dreaming
  • Two Old Women- Marinda
  • The Elegance of the Hedgehog- Sarah and Rachel
  • The Enchanted April- Katie
  • The Divine Secrets of the Ya-ya Sisterhood
  • You’re not you
  • The Book Thief
  • Influencer- Liz and Rosie
  • Daring Greatly- I just loved her TED talk
  • The Power of Vulnerability

I probably won’t get through all of these books in 2015 since I have a full time job and a ton of other responsibilities, but I’m hoping to make a significant dent. Feel free to take advantage of this list for your own booklist, and add to it in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

