Poland is the land of learning

Image

Yes everyone, feel jealous because this is the view from my balcony in Wroclaw. I’m pretty darn lucky.

Things I’ve learned about myself:

1. If I’ve ever just moved somewhere or started something new and am feeling unsure or lonely, just tell me to wait out the first week or two. That’s about how long it takes for me to adjust to new things. After a week or two, whatever made me feel nervous seems a lot easier to handle.

2. I don’t have to do what everyone else does to be happy. I live with some wonderful people who are great roommates and always make an effort to invite me out with them every night. Going out and drinking isn’t exactly my thing, and this has really showed me that I can say no and not offend anyone. People respect others’ decisions and don’t take it personally. It’s great!

3. I need lists to be productive. Sometimes I try to wing it and then a week goes by and I look back and haven’t accomplished anything. Five minutes sitting down and deciding what I want to get done makes all the difference.

4. When it comes to speaking a language, one of the best qualities you can have is fearlessness. It’s so easy to silence yourself because you’re afraid of making mistakes. Realizing that you’re going to make millions of language mistakes before you are fluent is important to remember. Just say what you can say and accept the imperfection. That’s how you get better.

Leave a Reply

