To Be

The question is not “To be, or not to be.” This isn’t a question of existence in general, it’s what I want that existence to consist of. I recognize that life is something special and every day will come and ask to be lived. Sometimes the question is whispered so quietly I don’t hear it as I work on my daily to do list, sometimes it’s loud and exciting.

Yesterday I pondered my convoluted answer to the question of “What I want to be when I grow up.” Today as I was reading over the post in the light of a new day, a new word stuck out: be. What do I want to be? This is so much more than a career or a job, this is the type of human being I want to become. Although I don’t have a lot of answers about what job I want, I know much more clearly what type of person I want to become, which for a lot of people is the harder question to answer.

I’ve been compiling my hopes and dreams of becoming since before I can remember. I’ve been lucky enough to have people in my life that have shown me all the facets of what makes life beautiful. I want to be the best parts of all the people I love, but more importantly, all the best parts of myself.

The great thing about this life long endeavor is that I can achieve this anywhere in the world. I can be single or married. I can have any career. Whatever happens in my life, the person I am will always be the most important defining characteristic and that is an answer I already have.

One thought on “To Be

  1. I love this and couldn't agree with you more. Too often when we try to imagine ourselves in the future we first try and picture a job. Then of course everything else: college, marriage, children, a house…and their prospective time frames. However because life can only be planned to a certain extent we forget that it is not college or our job or career that defines us, it is who we are: our passions, our dreams,the kind of ice cream that we like and the way that we treat ourselves and others. If we focus on these things and nurture them we can't help but live a full life with no regrets.

Leave a Reply

