Social ineptitude

You know that moment when you are walking and you look up and see someone you kind of know. Not really well, but definitely someone that you recognize and they recognize you. In that moment, you have a choice: you can stop and say hi and ask how they’re doing, you can smile and/or wave to acknowledge that yes you recognize them, or you can pretend you didn’t see them and keep walking. These three reactions, define general social interaction. The really bubbly, friends with everyone people react the first way, normal people the second, and the socially inept with the third.

Sometimes I think people think I’m a snob, because most of the time, I don’t know what to do, so I do nothing. I just pretend I didn’t see them, and move on. But the truth is, I’m just awkward. It’s easier. I don’t have to deal with how they react to me or what they read into by me stopping or smiling. I don’t know why I don’t take these opportunities. I love people. I just struggle with all the in-between people. I do really well in professional settings. I do really well with my closest friends. But all the people between those two categories, I spend half the time I’m with them figuring out how to treat them. It’s uncomfortable, and not fun, and very very awkward. Am I the only one? Anyone else feel this way sometimes?

One thought on “Social ineptitude

  1. Sure, most people experience this…. especially if you've stopped before and had a really awkward conversation. That's when you figure next time you'll just smile and walk by.

Leave a Reply

