Christmas 2011 in Poland

I can’t believe how fast time flies. This week and month and transfer and year. There is so much that has happened and yet it feels like yesterday that I was getting off the plane here in Poland with so many hopes and dreams and worries. I am so grateful for the many experiences that I have gained and the people I have come to know and love. During this holiday season I am especially grateful for my Savior Jesus Christ and all that He made possible. He is the hope I have in a better world and a happy and successful life.

I love you all so much. It was so fun to talk to you yesterday. I am getting so excited to see you again. It’s strange, for the last year and a half it has been normal to never see you and only speak to you twice a year, and in a few weeks I’m going to see you all in the flesh. Crazy! You mentioned a trip with Scott and I to Northern California. That would be really fun. I definitely want to get up there soon and visit grandma and Sherisse and Sammy. We’ll figure it out when I get back and when we know the specifics about Scott’s call. I know there are three day weekends on Martin Luther King Day and President’s Day. Those would probably be the best times to go for me.

We’ve been really lucky to have a very loving branch here in Lodz. Today we’re going to have our third Polish Christmas dinner. Yay, more fried carp! But it’s ensured that we aren’t bored through the holiday season and it’s been fun to participate in some of the Polish traditions. On Christmas Eve we got together and had a White Elephant, Pot-luck dinner, and then acted out the Nativity. Christmas on the mission never really feels the same, but it was fun.

President Nielson was in Lodz last week and told me about how they have decreased the allowed weight on our luggage, so last week I sent two boxes of books home so they wouldn’t push me over the limit. I’m debating on how much I want my Polish grammar books and if it’s worth it to me to ship them home too. We’ll see. I sent them home, but not priority. So they’ll probably get there in February.

Thank you so much for the e-mail mom. I am so grateful for your valiant effort in trying to not trunk me out. You are always so encouraging and want me to be doing what I’m supposed to be doing. Thanks for the great example. I love you and I’ll hear from you next week.

Siostra Allen

Leave a Reply

