Summer Sun is up at 3am

I think I mentioned that in the winter it gets dark really soon. The sun was set at 3 in the afternoon. Well the inverse of that is the summer when the sun rises at 3 am. Our apartment is on the east side of the building so at 3:30 or 4 am we have full daylight. For the last week, I’ve woken up really drowsy gotten out of bed to pray and then when I finished, looked at the clock and realized that I had a few more hours of sleep. This morning my companion got up, prayed and took a shower, only to discover when she returned to our bedroom that it was only 4:30. So funny. We’ll get used to it, but until then I feel like I’m sleeping in, because only when I sleep in do I sleep during so much daylight.

I’m thinking about how I would describe the last week. It was a good week, because we were working hard. We did a lot of contacting, but it was a lot more positive than last week. We talked to some really cool people and really got to teach and testify. It’s funny the more you’re here, the more you can do and say, but you want to do more and say more. I’m learning a lot of patience and the value of good planning and preparation.

We went out to visit our investigator last Monday- she lives a 45 minute train ride away from Katowice. We got to meet her sister and hang out with them and two other new members all afternoon since it was P-day! It was really fun. This P-day the YSAs are having a Grill which they planned on Monday so the missionaries could come. The last 5 converts from Katowice are younger than me which is crazy and really fun, it means we have a very young branch. But it’s great to do stuff like this because we can build relationships with the members and help support them and so they can invite friends and family to meet us.

By the way, I got both your letter and package. Thank you so much! It was great to hear from you. I’m glad to see that Josh’s graduation went well and that everyone is healthy. I keep a couple pictures of the family in my Book of Mormon because a lot of people want to see you all. So now I have a few more to add to it. Also, thank you thank you thank you for the conference ensign. We are loving finally hearing what was said in conference.

Leave a Reply

