Goodbye tights, Hello short sleeves

So it just gets warmer and warmer here. I’m actually in short sleeves and no tights today, can you believe it? I can’t. It’s really great for missionary work because more people are out and about just sitting with their families in parks. And everyone is happier and more open meaning their more willing to listen. It’s wonderful! I think I’m going to love spring. Już.
  The most amazing thing about being a missionary is teaching with the spirit. I had a few lessons this week where I know for a fact the Spirit directed what happened, and because of that the needs of the investigators and members were met in ways that I was not able to do alone. We asked one of our investigators, who I love dearly and have been working with most of my mission, to be baptized again this week. And when she said no, and I didn’t really understand the reason why because of the language barrier, I didn’t know what to say. And so I said a silent prayer and then all of the sudden, it was there in my head. I wish I could say she now has a baptismal date.. but I think the response full of love, but still a firm testimony that this is right, was important for her and for me. I am so grateful, that the Lord came to my aid.

I think I’ve always thought gifts of the Spirit would be easier to use. For instance, the gift of tongues means you just wake up speaking a new language right? So wrong. It’s lots of hard work and stupid mistakes and prayers for help. The same with the promise in the scriptures that you will always know what to say when you need to. Well yes, He helps you, but you have to prepare yourself and practice answering hard questions that people might ask with your companion, and be actively engaging in your scripture study and studying with investigators in mind.

I know this is the true church. It is the Church of Jesus Christ once again on the Earth in its fullness. I think so many people get it in their heads that we worship Joseph Smith or Mormon or Thomas S. Monson and that is so far from the truth. I am grateful to all of those valiant prophets of God that make sacrifices to serve the Lord, but I worship the living God. I know that He is my Father in Heaven and that He is aware of me and my life and my struggles. I know that through the Atonement of Jesus Christ I can make the changes in my life necessary to live with Him again and this prospect fills me with joy. I am grateful for the message I have to share with the people in Warszawa.

Leave a Reply

