Thanksgiving 2010

Enjoying Lunch with member from Houston, TX

Warsaw Mall looks very 21st century

Hi Family!
First off. Thank you so much for the pictures. I just got the package and it was so fun to see your adventures in Korea and in Arizona. And I’m glad that you got the ones I sent. I’ll send more, if you send more. And I’m so glad that the family reunion was a success and that you’re going to be with Grandma and Grandpa for Thanksgiving. Wow, I leave and you travel all over the place. I guess I’m in Poland, so I have nothing to complain about, travel wise. We’re going to be having Thanksgiving dinner with an American family in the branch. So no need to worry about me- I’ll have a great time and eat well.

This week I had my first Zone Conference. They used to have them about every transfer (or every other month), but according to the new Missionary program introduced by the church, they now only have it 4 times a year. It was wonderful. Elder Kopiske came, the Area 70 for Europe and gave such fine tuned advice and counsel. I feel like I was being educated on the Lord’s way of learning. So many of the questions I had were specific things I should be doing and how I should be doing them. He explained that when learning there is always a Doctrine, a Principle and an Application. The first two is what you teach and expound on, the application is varied and individual. It requires prayer and study and sometimes even fasting. My testimony of priesthood leaders grew, my desire to study the scriptures grew (he knew his scriptures and could take you anywhere and everywhere to answer your questions), and I found out that I have a lot of work to do to really aid Heavenly Father in his work and his glory. He asked us to “Teach to Find”. Something that is in Preach My Gospel. But something I hadn’t paid too much attention to. We need to be teaching people true doctrine on the street as soon as we meet them and testify of it. When we do that the Holy Ghost has to be present to testify of the truth of our words. In this way we can find people who are interested in learning more, because we’ll show them that there is more to learn and that they feel good when they are learning about it.

Poland fact: The clouds here move fast. I’ve never seen anything like it. I’ll be eating breakfast in the morning and looking out the window and the clouds will look like there is a tornado coming they are moving so fast. But no, it’s actually still somewhat calm weather outside. No tornados to worry about.

Wow, the time has flown. I have to go, but I love you dearly. Have a wonderful week and know that I am so happy to be here doing the Lord’s work. The Book of Mormon changes my life every time I read it. Jesus is the Christ, the son of God. He truly died for our sins and loves us. We can learn about him through the words of the prophets and as we live according to his commandments.

Sister Allen
P.S. I’ve heard it’s good to address letters with Elder or Sister. I definitely am Sister Allen now. It’s weird to hear or think my first name because no one has called me it for over 4 months. However, Poles really like to know your first name and a lot of them will ask you what it is. So, whatever you want to call me is fine.

Leave a Reply

