What a fun looking group!

I realize that it is not Tuesday. There is leadership training this week, so they changed around the schedule a bit. But I’m not unhappy, because we’ve been wanting to go to the Uprising museum here in Warsaw that’s closed on Tuesdays. So we’re going to take advantage of the schedule change and head over there this afternoon.

What to say about this week. Well, fall is officially here. It’s rained almost non-stop since the middle of last week. This has changed some of our day-to-day activities. Before, we did a lot of street contacting- where we just stop people on the street to see if they were interested in learning more. But now that the weather is bad, people don’t particularly want to stand out in the rain and talk to you, nor do we really want to walk around in it for hours; so now we do mostly tracting! I really feel like a missionary when tracting. Hi we’re from the church… We have a message about … You try and have the spirit and look like a normal person, not an ax murderer– tell them who you are and hopefully get them curious all in 30 seconds. It’s great.

Polish people are super private when it comes to strangers. We will “dom-a-phone” at least 30 people without anyone letting us into a building.  If they don’t know you, why should they open the door. Sometimes we hear a person come up to the door, look through the peep hole, and then walk away. That’s pretty funny.   Yet, I am excited for the day when someone actually lets us in. It does work sometimes!  There is a family in the first branch that was contacted through tracting. It’s kind of cool to ask everyone for their conversion stories. Most of them involve meeting the missionaries on the street or tracting; so they are living proof that what I’m doing isn’t wasted effort.

Legia! Legia is the Warsaw soccer team. Soccer is BIG here. I think even bigger than NBA or NFL in the states. I can’t be completely sure, because I’ve never lived in a city where there are professional teams. But we were on our way to look for an inactive member a few days ago and a crowd of drunk soccer fans got onto our metro car. Half on one side and half on the other. They started screaming their soccer chants back and forth and pounding on the ceiling of the car. I understood them professing their love for Legia and Warsaw and heard the names some other teams, but that’s about it. I’m pretty sure it’s because I don’t know any Polish profanity. Sister LeFevre said that profanity was over half of their lyrics. It was kind of funny. I can add that to the list of Poland experiences.

I figured out how to get pictures on to an e-mail. Tell me if it works. There are some from my first week here. When I went on splits with Sister Bautner and Sister Bailey and I in łazienki park. There’s one of the rynek in Warsaw and Stallin’s tower with the Hard Rock at night. There’s a picture of my first district and a couple with members here in Poland Paola who is from Puerto Rico and Dorota who is from here in Poland. Sorry it’s taken me so long to get them to you.

I’m happy. I’m safe. I’m doing the Lord’s work and he is sustaining me. I love you all and am so grateful to have you cheering for me at home.

Sister Allen.

P.S. Could you send me the address to Brandon Family Dental. I promised I would send them a postcard. And also the address for Katelyn (serving in St. George) one of my roommates might have it and Jessie’s mission address too. And then also Cady Marshall. I want to write them all a letter.

P.P.S. You mentioned that you could make me another skirt potentially. If you find the time in the next month, I would love a second wool skirt. I can already tell I’m going to be wearing it a ton as the weather gets colder and colder. It would be cool to have one that was a color or had a pattern because we have big coats on most of the day, so our skirts are the only color that is able to show. I have a brown coat and brown boots. I’ll have to take a picture so you can see what they look like. Maybe next week.

2 thoughts on “

  1. Cathy, I sent Tracy Katelyn's missionary address last night, so she should be getting it sometime this week. We don't have Jessie's address yet, but she doesn't leave until December. I'll make sure I send that on as well. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

