We fly out tomorrow

I can’t believe it’s finally here. I’m terrified and excited and amazed at this awesome opportunity. I have come to love Poland, to love the idea of living there and teaching there and talking to Polish people all day. With each day I feel more strongly the desire of the Lord to bless them with the restored gospel of Jesus Christ and feel a driving desire to accomplish this work in spite of fear and my own limitations. It is something beyond anything else I’ve ever done

Sister Bailey and I had an amazing opportunity at the TRC. The investigators that we were teaching were really good and asked us questions. Normally, not a big deal. But when you’re teaching in a different language you have to hope that

1. you understand the words their saying 2. you understand what they’re really asking at a spiritual level 3. you know how to answer it doctrinally 4. you know how to answer it in Polish. I gained such a testimony of the Lord’s involvement in this work as he blessed us with the ability to answer their questions. It was amazing, and I know that as I work hard and study hard he can bless me to be a more and more effective teacher.

Starszy Oborn is doing so well. In fact so well that they decided he’s ready to go into the field. We’re all sad that for safety reasons, they decided that his field of labor will be in Chicago instead of Poland because we love him and will miss him. But we are soooo excited for him. He is a solid missionary and the Lord has a special purpose for him there. There are no coincidences in missionary work.

We have been practicing street contacting, and even though it’s really intimidating, it’s awesome that I theoretically have the ability to strike up a conversation with someone, get to know them and testify of Jesus Christ and the Book of Mormon. It’s not much, but it’s something. I was really bad when we really started focusing on it a week ago, but as we’ve practiced I’ve gotten better and better. Maybe I will be ready to leave on Monday.

I felt an outpouring of love from home too. I got letters from a ton of my roommates, from the Beehives in my ward, my lovely grandmother, and my mom! It was awesome. And I just want to express my love and appreciation. It really makes a wonderful difference.

Well I’m almost out of time and I have a busy day- I’m going to start packing so that I don’t have to rush at the last minute.

Love you all, thanks for your prayers and support,

Siostra Allen)

Leave a Reply

