5th Week in the MTC

MTC Update:

We are officially over half way through the MTC. In less than a month I will be in Poland! That is kind of insane! We get to teach our first all Polish lesson on Thursday and I’m quite nervous. There’s a lot to memorize and learn. But I’m also a little bit excited. The spirit is always so strong and I learn so much every week at the TRC. As I push myself to prepare for Thursday I see my hard work in action as I AM able to communicate in another language. Something that I’ve learned as Sister Bailey and I have been preparing to teach in Polish is that the simplicity with which you are forced to communicate with by necessity is not a bad thing. In fact, it allows the spirit more time to witness of the truth of the message. I’ll tell you how it goes.
Polish Fact of the Week: Ziemniak (pronounced gem-nee-ahk) means potatoe. For some reason they use this word instead of “pound it”. Also the Hymn Let Zion in Her Beauty Rise has new meaning as it says that we will spread the gospel from pole to pole.
Last night we played a Polish version of Truth or Dare (minus the Truth option). We had just learned the command form and so if you could command someone in the room to do something with correct Polish grammar, they had to do it. It was pretty funny. Elder Lundin had to do the jerk for one of the other classes and Elder Kalinowski licked Elder Curtis’ foot. I always appreciate it when our teachers put the time and energy into activities that help us better learn the material they teach us. It really does help. I’m trying to think of what else to write about. We really do just get up and study all day long except for gym time and meals we’re always in the classroom. We study and learn (and joke a little) and then sleep and do it again the next day. But we really are learning a lot. It’s quite amazing.
The Provo Temple is officially open again and so we got to go today. It is so nice to be able to go again. I love the peace and rejuvination I feel by going and can’t wait for the blessing of regular attendance to be available to all members of the church.
I love you all. Thanks for brightening my day with your notes.
Siostra Allen
Leave a Reply

