3rd week in the MTC

So Sister Bailey is telling me that you tried to call her parents. That’s so cool. Thank you so much for the letters and the package. I can’t tell you how wonderful they are to receive. I’m glad all is going well, I keep you in my prayers and know that Heavenly Father will take care of you all. Please let me know how the boys enjoyed their camp out and how Scott’s birthday was. I sent him a letter, which I don’t think he got because I sent it to Las Vegas. Either way, I hope he had a great day.

(We’ve had a good week. There were a few little bumps, mostly me forgetting and loosing things, but we both figure it’s because we’ve decided to work on patience as a district. I went to the podiatrist yesterday and everything is good to go. Their office doesn’t charge for follow up appointments, and because we had already paid for treatment that’s what they considered it. When they told me they didn’t want me to pay anything I gave them a funny look and asked if they were sure about that. I don’t think I’ve every gone to the doctor and paid less than a $15 copay. I know Heavenly Father is looking out for us. But my medical story of the week is nothing in comparison to Elder Oborn’s. He’s been having chest and back pain since right before he came into the MTC. When he went to the doctor before he came they told him he was just anxious and it would go away. It didn’t, so he went to the doctor yesterday. They gave the same diagnosis but just to be sure they decided to do some X-rays with which they discovered that one of his lungs was almost completely collapsed. They were able to suck out the air that had leaked out of the lung and into his chest cavity and right now his lung have reinflated to 95%. Please keep him in your prayers, we really want him to come to Poland with us in 7 weeks.
Poland fact of the week:
At one point in Star Wars Jabba the Hut speaks Polish. He says “O co chodzi?” (pronounced Oh tsoh hogee) meaning “What’s the point?”
The more I learn Polish the more blessed I feel. I know that Heavenly Father gave me opportunities that prepared me to do this. For example, there are a LOT of grammar rules for Polish and because of my background in English I know the difference between an adjective and an adverb and what a direct object is. Essential pieces of information to know if you intend on speaking Polish. Learning Spanish has helped so much as I’m conjugating and deciding what tenses things need to be in. And choir has aided my ability to pronounce words that are very different from English. I honestly don’t know how I would be doing without all of those experiences. Either way, I feel very blessed everyday as Siostra Bailey and I read the Ksiega Mormona and can start to piece together what it’s saying.
I have so much I want to tell you about what I’ve been learning here. Sister Bailey and I are currently preparing the second lesson for our TRC appointment on Thursday. I love how basic it is. It answers in such a clear and direct way the three most elusive questions about life. Where I came from? What is my purpose in life? and Where am I going? Knowing that I lived before I came here and choose this means of learning and growing makes all the difference. Knowing that this life is the time to prepare to meet God, where I can experience life and make choices and repent when I mess up is both comforting and focusing. And knowing that I have the potential to live with my Father in Heaven again makes everything worth it. I love that Jesus Christ is the center of the plan. I love that it emphasizes families. And I especially love 2 Nephi 9. Go and read it. It’s probably the most amazing doctrinal chapter on the Plan of Salvation (next to Alma 12 and 2 Nephi 2).
In class we got to watch a talk by Elder Bednar about listening to the spirit. His answer was rather suprising. He said, “Be a good boy. Be a good girl. Obey the commandments and honor your covenents. And then don’t worry about it.” Most of the time we don’t even know when we’re being guided by the spirit. Don’t let your desire for a concrete answer paralyze you. This life is about doing something. I loved this message. I think it’s going to revolutionize the way I do my mission, look for answers, and live my life. As long as I’m listening and trying to do what’s right I will follow the spirit whether I know it or not.
P.S. Extra Extra Read All About It.
Yes, we do have new dress guidelines. Skirts can be shorter and no nylons are necessary. The latter is my favorite rule.)
Love you all so much, write to you next week.
Tracy
Leave a Reply

