"Having Fun Isn’t Hard When You’ve Got A Library Card"

From: here
 
Don’t judge me, but is it strange that I miss the library? It became a place of escape for me. If I couldn’t focus, if I had been procrastinating, if there were too many distracting people at my apartment I could just go to the library. It offered a space of clarity and purpose to my otherwise convoluted life. I always left having made some progress and so I embraced my time there.

I guess that’s why today, with my Farewell talk on the horizon and a busy weekend ahead of me, I knew I had to get out of my house and go somewhere I could just think. Not a UNLV student, but confident I could convince any innocent bystander, I packed my missionary backpack with my tools–scriptures, Preach My Gospel, and Teaching No Greater Call, and I drove up to campus. It just felt good to be a student (even for a short stint) again. I know what to do in a library. I’m at home there. And, as usual, I came out having finally made some progress.

One thought on “"Having Fun Isn’t Hard When You’ve Got A Library Card"

Leave a Reply

