The Joys of Domesticity


I have just developed a testimony of domesticity.

Yesterday was absolutely insane. I was in class or working non-stop from 8 am to 6:45 pm. As I walked home exhausted, starving, and stressed out, cooking dinner was the last thing that I wanted to do upon returning to my apartment. But after dropping my backpack off and changing my clothes I quickly set about browning the sausage and chopping the green pepper.

Normally I feel irritable and lethargic when I get home from days like this All I want to do is lie down on the floor and listen to Regina Spektor, but I felt surprisingly at peace and happy as I was chopping . I was doing something productive. It was going to taste good (hopefully). It was Sausage Merengo. I love Sausage Merengo. And for over an hour I didn’t have to memorize laws of physics or attempt to understand post-modern commentary. I could just have a couple minutes in the kitchen to myself.

I don’t know that I’ll ever look quite like the girl above, but I’ve certainly learned that you can enjoy the tasks that must be completed. That we need balance. Studying all the time isn’t fun. Cleaning or cooking all the time isn’t fun. But they have their time and place and provide necessary equilibrium. I think I’ll balance out my day with some freshly baked cookies. That sounds like a good idea.

2 thoughts on “The Joys of Domesticity

Leave a Reply

