Pillow Talk

Being an only daughter with two younger brothers means you get your own room. This is nice, but I think there are some fundamental things about life that you miss out on. You miss out on the relationship that builds between two people that share their most intimate space. Some of my favorite discussions happen with Michele around 1:00 in the morning when we’re both exhausted and very ready to drift into the land of rest and subconscious but get side tracked. Pillow talk I guess you could say.

After you finish the day that you jammed full of things to do and people to see. After you’ve decided to be done with that for a little while and in the process allow your true essence, your real wandering thoughts loose that’s when it happens. Sometimes these conversations with Michele can get a little out of control. Me at 1:00 in the morning is a slightly insane experience at times. I will break out in random songs that I feel connect to what is said, stuff like that. But in between all the insanity we are able to talk about things that really matter. Politics, relationships, love, marriage, religion, scriptures, life, the people we love… Last night we had the most beautiful discussion about pre-mortality and our savior Jesus Christ and agency. And I feel like I learned so much from the discussion. About these topics, about Michele, about everything. Why has this not been a part of my life before. It’s one of my favorite things ever. Better than English class or choir rehearsal or even roommate dinner or girls night. And I love all of the above.

P.S. Why did couples choose different rooms one hundred years ago. I’m not even married and I know they were missing out- on the talking of course, they did have children.

4 thoughts on “Pillow Talk

  1. When I was pregnant with Joshua and they told me it was a boy, I went to Ferron Elementary school where you were at lunch and I walked around the playground with you and told you that you were going to be my only girl. I was so sad I wasn't able to have more children to give you a sister. You could tell I was sad. You were like… it's ok mom don't worry. But I knew you would miss it some day…. On the up side Joshua is the best youngest brother in the world — isn't he.

  2. Joshua is definitely the best youngest brother in the world. I wouldn't trade him for a sister any day of the week. And even though I don't have a sister I think Heavenly Father made up for it by blessing me with wonderful sisters elsewhere.

  3. I am so glad that I was able to be there for the entire making of this post. From its wee beginnings on Michele's laptop to the editing out of the creepy face and attached arm, to when I decided it was time to go to bed. Also, I wanted to tell you that I am currently on a computer with a very large screen in the library and both of our blogs look SOOOOO good all big and fancy and the like. And I love you. And am glad that you have lots of sisters even if they aren't actually related to you. And that you are beautiful and my friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

