Bandwagon


A strange social networking phenomenon has occurred a few times in the last couple of months. Those of you who frequent Facebook probably noticed and/or participated in one of them. Whether it’s for publicity or a cause or just because, somebody starts something like Doppelganger week and before you know it, you don’t recognize anyone of the friends on your homepage because their profile pictures are now celebrities who look like them.

I’m generally slightly disconcerted by these trends the first day, but by the third I want to participate. It’s that bandwagon- I guess I’m just a sucker. I still hold to the belief that I’m an individual with unique thoughts who stands by her instincts and not just someone who bends with the wind’s direction. It’s postmodernism at work, right? I’m willing to deconstruct my initial thoughts and make an educated decision based on a new paradigm of understanding. It helps me realize that there’s nothing wrong with putting Katherine Hepurn as my profile picture, it’s just a bit of fun. I’m not selling out to a mainstream trend, or maybe I am, but does it really matter. Anyway, those are my thoughts after a long hard week of tests, papers, books, lectures, little sleep, and a good meal every night of the week.

Leave a Reply

