Balancing Act

Besides the noble art of getting things done, there is the noble art of leaving things undone. The wisdom in life consists in the elimination of non-essentials.— Lin Yutang

I think I’ve hesitated to blog since last week because, well, how do you top: I’m going on a mission! I’m not getting married or having a baby so…I can’t. Life, mundane and repetitive, creeps back into every recess of my consciousness and I find myself absorbed in it yet again.

I’m afraid there really isn’t much to write about unless you’d like me to analyze a poem I’ve read recently or talk about the Christmas music we started in choir today or embarrass myself by writing something in Spanish-because that’s what consumes my every thought. I am a student. And to actually come close to accomplishing all that my professors have deemed necessary for me to accomplish, I can’t think about much else. I try and take the time I get walking between classes to enjoy the returning fall weather and warm my soul with feelings of love for my roommates at dinner and during church. But with everything there is to worry about, its easy to forget to take advantage of these sparse opportunities.

I imagine life is always a problem of balancing our “selves”- the many personas we put on during the day. But as difficult as that task might be, it’s staying true to our pure honest unpretentious self that is the most difficult. That is: remembering what is important, making sure that self is always progressing forward, listening to what it tells you about yourself and acting upon it. Accomplishing that is the true balancing act.

One thought on “Balancing Act

  1. Tracy, i am so excited for you. you will be a wonderful missionary! you are also a beautiful writer. I wish i could put words on paper like you do. It's beautiful and so are you!

Leave a Reply

