Some big decisions…

I know I haven’t written very much lately. Everything seems to have sped up to 100 miles an hour. I can’t even express how much I appreciated day light savings time last night- aka an extra hour of sleep. But amidst the late nights at the library, choir performances, and family vacations, some very important things have happened. Quiet things that will forever change my life.

Today during the sacrament I felt impressed to write about a very special experience that I want to share :

I remember distinctly a night when I was about 7 or 8 years old kneeling in bed and being overcome with feelings of love from my Savior Jesus Christ. In that moment, at such a young age, I knew without a doubt that Jesus Christ was the Son of God, that He knew me by name, and that He loved me. In that sacred moment He testified to me by the Holy Spirit that the words of my parents were true. He had actually lived on the earth and suffered the atonement. That he had done so out of love and obedience to His Father so that I could come live with Him again. I knew that He truly wanted that for me, and this knowledge gave me happiness I had never before experienced.

Joseph Smith said that he could never deny that the First Vision happened because it did. He knew it and God knew it. While heavenly visions were not a part of my experience, it happened. I know what I learned that night and so does God. And because of this, I can never deny that Jesus is the Christ, the very son of God.

It’s been over a decade since that quiet night, but I still think of it often. I know that it has defined my life: the choices I have made and the person I have become. And I know that it will continue to do so.

I share this experience to express my deeply rooted testimony in the Gospel of Jesus Christ, a fundamental part of who I am. And I share it to hopefully give you an idea of why I have decided to serve a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. I know that it is true, and am excited to give a year and a half of my life to a loving Father in Heaven who has already given me so much. The prospect is daunting, but I know that in so many ways it will make me into the person I long to become. That I can find myself in the losing of myself. That I can be more flexible in the hands of a master craftsman and somehow aid the bringing forth of this great work. Even His entire work and glory.

Leave a Reply

