My Answer

Usually when I pose questions to the universe that are a result of frustration, I don’t get an answer. It isn’t until I’ve calmed down and thought it through that anything coherent shines through the darkness. So maybe I’ve been subconsciously working through this in my mind, because I got an answer.

A couple weeks ago I talked about how I wanted to change the world and just felt stinted. This Sunday in Relief Society, Kim, the wonderful and insightful president that she is, made a comment that directly addressed this. I don’t remember the exact wording, in fact I think she was talking about visiting teaching, but she said, you don’t have to do big things to change the world. You just have to care about individual people and contribute to their well being. Julie B. Beck said this in a talk of hers as well–that our most important service opportunities are found in our homes, wards, and communities.

I would love to go do peacecorp or volunteer at an orphanage in Romania or Bolivia, and maybe I will, but right now I can focus on my own limited sphere of influence. And I know that that contribution is not unimportant. It’s easy to think that the work we do is insignificant, at least for me it is. But its nice to be reminded that if you are giving your best offering as Abel did, Heavenly Father accepts your offering gladly. I’m grateful for the reassurance. I needed reminding.

Leave a Reply

