Update

It’s been a while, hasn’t it?

Well occasionally life gets in the way of blogging. Pesky finals, long work shifts, family visits, and friends moving. Things like that just consume your day. But I guess that’s the way to live–busy working towards your goals, being with people you care about.

This post isn’t going to be deeply philosophical or anything, just what’s going on in my life. Summer term just started on Monday. And I’m taking a writing class and international politics class and a dance class. Call me a nerd, but I’m so excited.

For those of you who don’t know, I have a passion for politics. I don’t know nearly as much as I should or would like to about it, but I find the subject fascinating. I seriously considered studying PoliSci in college, but then English swooped in and took the prize. For two years and a term I’ve been dutifully taking major, minor, and GE classes, none of which satisfied my urge to study at least a little bit about international politics. Until this term, almost all the of the classes that I should take are during my work shift. Ultimately its been a blessing, now I have the opportunity to do something I’ve really wanted to do: take a PoliSci class for fun. Now you see why I call myself a nerd.

What else is new, so I don’t bore you with too much about school. I went for a run yesterday with Katelyn and Jordan. I usually prefer running solo, but it was really fun to go with them. Running with a group really makes you push yourself. I probably ran almost two of the miles straight, which is a big thing for me, as small as that number is. It was really cool since the sun had gone down, a lot of other people were out running or going for romantic strolls, and then Jordan started singing Air Force songs which we then echoed. So, it ended up being quite an enjoyable run.

Something else that’s been an exciting part of apartment life this week is that Jessie’s friend Jamie is visiting from Boston. She’s a film major and Jessie got her to show some of the projects she’s worked on this year. They were really good.
She’s been fun to visit with and get an Eastener’s perspective on things, not that we don’t have that with Jessie. But there’s always been something somewhat magical about New England for me.

My life is somewhat mundane at the moment. And so are my thoughts. I’ll try and see if I can spice up one or the other. We’ll see. Otherwise you might just get more long posts of me discussing interesting topics from my writing and IR classes. Whether I fix the interest level of my life or not, I’ll try to keep you updated on what I’m up to and what I’m thinking.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

