Westminster Abbey

As I walked through the abbey, I couldn’t help but stand in awe at the shear majesty of the building and the monuments. The fact that someone as great as William Wilberforce and Elizabeth I, so far removed from my mundane existence, lay before me was unbelievable. But at the same time it reminded me of human mortality. Those great figures of history are dust at the bottom of their great gilded effigies just as my ancestors are dust in their rotting wooden boxes. While it is good of us to remember and honor them for their progressive achievements, they are now without the ability to affect change. They gave their lives in passion for their beliefs and efforts, but now are at rest and have left us with the charge of creating a better tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

